Tel: 916.564.3780   
Fax: 916.564.3787


VISION The Sacramento County Bar Association [SCBA] is an active, vibrant community of dedicated lawyers serving as an advocate for the profession in leadership and service to the greater Sacramento community. MISSION To enhance the system of justice, the lawyers who serve it, 
and the community served by it. STRATEGIC PRIORITIES AND GOALS Foster an engaged, collegial, diverse, and supportive community of dedicated lawyers Increase public understanding of the Rule of Law and the justice system Serve as a leader in the civic and legal communities by having a positive impact on issues of importance Increase access to justice for the poor and those of modest means Develop the infrastructure and governance capacity to successfully implement the strategic plan About SCBA

The Sacramento County Bar Association's commitment to the legal profession and community is to enhance the system of justice, the lawyers who serve it, and the community served by it.


Sacramento County Bar Association’s first recorded minutes of bar business are dated June 24, 1918; Honorable Grove L. Johnson President.  The first board meet was held at 700 Capitol National Bank Building. Subsequent meetings were held in Department Two of the Superior Court on the second floor corner of 6th and 7th of I Street.  It wasn’t until October 21, 1949 that the Association incorporated and was granted 501c6 status.


At the inception of the Association, dues were $5 a year or $50 to be a life member. The Association’s bank balance began with $366.85.

SCBA Presidents Archives provide the following Past Presidents:

1919 – May 1924 Grove L. Johnson

June 1924 – [term end unknown] Lester J. Hinsdale

1925 – 1926 – [unknown]

1927 – 1929 Herbert E. White

1930  Dal M. Lemmon

1931 – 1936 James D. Meredith

1937 - 1938B F. Van Dyke

1939 Ralph W. Lewis

1940 Fontaine Johnson

1941 Grover W. Bedeau

1942 Harry B. Seymour

1943 Gerald M. Desmond

1944 A. I. Diepenbrock

1945 Joseph W. Mento

1946 Cyril A. Coyle

1947 Evan J. Hughes

1948 Wilson Craven

1949 Albert E. Sheets

1950 Otto Rohwer – Jay L. Henry

1951 Robert A. Zarick

1952 Benjamin Frantz

1953 Gilford S. Rowland

1954 Kenneth G. McGilvray

1955 William A. Sitton

1956 Anthony Kennedy

1957 Joe M. Fitzwilliam

1958 Jerome M. McLaughlin

1959 John F. Downey

1960 John J. Wells

1961 Lawrence A. Schei

1962 Frank K. Richardson

1963 Bruce F. Allen

1964 Phillip C. Wilkins

1965 H. Harold Levy

1966 Forrest A. Plant

1967 Richard E. Crow

1968 Charles A. Barrett

1969 Robert H. Memering

1970 William H. Lally

1971 Charles F. Gray Jr.

1972 Norman D. Baldwin

1973 Kneeland H. Lobner

1974 Jerome R. Lewis

1975 Garth Scallon

1976 Morton L. Friedman

1977 Reynold J. Gualco

1978 Thomas A. Craven

1979 Philip Mering

1980 Robert C. Schleh

1981 Thomas W. Eres

1982 Joe S. Gray

1983 Orrin F. Finch

1984 Judith R. Campos

1985 Michael S. Sands

1986 James M. Mize

1987 William A. Kershaw


1988 Judith A. Harper

1989 Samuel L. Jackson

1990 Richard H. Hoffelt

1991 D. Thomas Woodruff

1992 Diane E. Wasznicky

1993 Gary S. Decker

1994 Kenneth M. Malovos

1995 Deborah M. Debow

1996Gary F. Loveridge

1997 Windie O. Scott

1998 James R. Greiner

1999 Emory L. King Jr

2000 Bruce C. Cline

2001 Barbara H. Yonemura

2002 Mark Shusted

2003 Bion M. Gregory

2004 Joan Stone

2005 W. Stuart Home III

2006 Jack C. Laufenberg

2007 Stacy Boulware-Eurie

2008 Christopher Krueger

2009 Michael Mills

2010 Todd Vlaanderen

2011 Michael Levy

2012 June D. Coleman

2013 Bruce M. Timm

2014 BJ Susich

2015 Angela Lai



Powered by SCBA

Copyright © 2017 Sacramento County Bar Association